Schelling Architecture Awards 2014

Whereas until 2010, the prize winners were already known before the awards ceremony, in 2012 the foundation decided to alter the selection procedure for the architecture prize: three firms of architects are nominated, but the winner is only voted for on the day of the awards ceremony. As this change was well received, the three nominees for 2014 are once again being announced ahead of the award ceremony (see below).

The jury vote will take place on
12 November 2014 at 5:30 pm (scheduled end: 8 pm)
Location: Tulla Saal, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT / Architecture Faculty, 76131 Karlsruhe)

On this day, the nominated architects will outline their work in brief presentations, to which the public is very welcome. The following firms of architects have been nominated for the 2014 Schelling Architecture Foundation Architecture Prize:
– Anna Heringer, Laufen (
– Carla Juaçaba, Rio de Janeiro (
– Diébédo Francis Kéré, Berlin (
This nomination reflects a high degree of recognition. It is hoped that the theme of this year’s prize – indigenous ingenuity / direkt vor Ort – will give rise to a lively discussion: How can inventive and directly comprehensible architecture satisfy human needs in an appealing way? How does such architecture come into being? By using regional building materials and local craftspeople? By relating to specific climatic conditions and building traditions?
The theme can be understood as a continuation of Kenneth Frampton’s concept of Critical Regionalism – thus creating a link to this year’s winner of the Schelling Architecture Theory Prize, Juhani Pallasmaa. The jury awarded the prize to the Finnish architect, writer, publisher, lecturer and critic for his life’s contribution to architectural culture, and especially for his impassioned studies of the phenomenological approach. By viewing architecture as a defender of the authenticity of human experience, he has taken a polemic stance towards the
mutability, immateriality and anonymity of our digital world. Pallasmaa will be a voting member of the jury for the Architecture Prize.
Founded in 1992 in Karlsruhe by Trude Schelling-Karrer and Heinrich Klotz, the Schelling Architecture Foundation
The selection committee for 2014: Peter Cachola-Schmal, Christiane Fath,
Louisa Hutton, Dietmar Steiner, Wilfried Wang, Ludwig Wappner, guest: Helga Kusolitsch.